Return to Listings

Barbican Quartet                    20th Mar 2017 at the Library Theatre Map

Schubert’s final chamber work, the transcendental String Quintet, is the heart of this programme from one of the country’s most exciting young ensembles. For many aficionados this great piece of chamber music is the crowning glory of the First Viennese School. The quartet will also play the haunting Poem by impressionist Rebecca Clarke and towards the golden light, a new work by contemporary composer Deborah Pritchard, much admired for her atmospheric and highly personal scores.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Adagio and Fugue (8')

Rebecca Clarke - Poem (8' 30”)

Deborah Pritchard – towards the golden light (4')

Franz Schubert – Quartettsatz (10′)

Schubert – String Quintet in C D956 (47’)

(Guest cellist to be confirmed)

Members of the Barbican Quartet