Return to Listings

Parnassius Piano Duo               20th Feb 2017 at Luton 6th Form  College Map

We return to Luton 6th Form College for the inaugural concert on their superb new concert grand, installed in memory of their former Head of Music Michael Baxter. One of the country’s finest piano duos play sensuous works by Delius and a new arrangement of Gaucho by the ground-breaking female Brazilian composer Gonzaga (1847-1935). Students of the college will also perform the world première of a specially conceived work for multiple keyboards. The second half is then given over to an epic arrangement of Rachmaninov’s sweeping 2nd Symphony. Students from the College’s dance course will also interpret two of the items on the programme.

Frederick Delius – On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring (arr. Peter Warlock)

Frederick Delius – Aquarelles (new arr. for piano duo/keyboards by Luton student)

Cécile Chaminade – Pièces romantiques Op. 55

No. 1 Primavera

No. 2 Idylle arabe

No. 4 Sérénade d’automne

No. 5 Danse hindoue

Chiquinha Gonzaga – Gaucho (3’)

Frederick Delius – Dance Rhapsody No 1 (arr. Peter Warlock)

Sergei Rachmaninov – Symphony No 2



Simon Callaghan & Hiroaki Takenouchi

Piano Duo

The programme will be performed on the college’s new Kawai Shigeru - SK6 model, piano.

This concert is generously supported by The Delius Trust